Day 177: Using a chainsaw

Remember when I discovered my love for power tools on Day 23? Yea, I didn’t really remember either. Well, I rediscovered my love for them today when I was introduced to… the chainsaw. (dangerous music plays) Now, while I loved the power I felt while using (and even just holding) the chainsaw, it was still a very scary thing for me.

If you think about it, the chainsaw is a really horrifying invention. It’s a chain that spins so fast it can cut clean through a thick piece of wood in a matter of seconds. How did this come about? In my opinion, any tool that can be used as the primary weapon for a horror movie about torture and killing should not be allowed to be invented and used by man.

I guess my opinion really doesn’t count. Well, you know what they say- “If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em!” And join them I did.

My friend, Roger, gave me a lesson in chainsaw 101 and supervised me as I cut through some tree branches. Let me tell you, that thing was scary in my hands! If the loud, harsh noise isn’t enough to make you want to hide, then the spinning chain in your hands will definitely get the job done.

It took me a couple of tries before I was able to get the hang of it. I would start to put some pressure on it, pushing it into the wood, but it would start to bounce a little. Instead of taking this as a sign that I needed to apply a little more pressure, I would get nervous, and pull it back a bit, causing it to buck even more. I finally got out the guts to control the darn thing, and was soon cutting enough wood to fuel 10,000 fires! (Total exaggeration)

Once I felt comfortable using the chainsaw, I fo- wait a second… I never felt comfortable using the chainsaw. In fact, putting the chainsaw down didn’t come soon enough!

Once I was done with my lesson, I had to do something girly right away. Roger has an awesome swing set up in one of his trees and I made a beeline for it. Now this was much more my style.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Sports/ Activities

One Comment on “Day 177: Using a chainsaw”

  1. Morgan Says:

    you are too cute to use a chainsaw! only 4 more days!!! ahhh!!


Leave a Reply

