Day 132: A Firehouse Community Breakfast

Every Sunday I think I see a “Community Breakfast 8a.m.-12p.m.” sign outside the local fire station I pass on my way to church. As it turns out, I don’t really see it every Sunday, because the Community Breakfast only happens once a month. So two Sundays ago, when I thought I was going to the weekly Community Breakfast, I only found myself sitting in my car in a completely empty fire station parking lot with an hour to kill before church. I wasn’t planning on making this mistake again, so I wrote down the dates listed on the other sign, and I have been looking forward to June 12th all month.

Pulling into the parking lot this morning was quite different from my last time. It certainly was not an empty parking lot. In fact, and to my surprise, it was pretty full. I was meeting my two friends, John and Jim, who also live in my local community, for what I was sure was going to be an excellent start to the week. And I was right.

When I think of a breakfast held in a fire station, I’ll admit that the picture my mind paints is no pretty field of daisies, and although the reality of this morning’s breakfast was in no way a grassy plain dotted with white flowers, it was definitely more than I expected. The lighting was a bit dim and there were pretty, white Christmas lights hung around. There were a lot of tables with place settings already set and a delicious buffet of breakfast goodies.

That was another surprise: the food. For a mere $8, you could help yourself to a buffet of eggs (custom-made if you asked), french toast, pancakes, hash-browns (the big ones like you get at McDonald’s!), toast, bacon, sausage, ham, muffins, and strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and whipped cream to top off anything you wanted. Oh and I don’t want to forget the orange juice fountain. That’s right, they pulled out all the tricks. I didn’t have the heart to tell them that they should’ve put chocolate fondue in the fountain instead.

If this breakfast couldn’t get any better, then I would have to lie about our table company. But I won’t, so I’ll tell you that this breakfast got amazingly better. John, Jim and I sat with two very nice, very random, and very animated guys. One’s name was Jim and the other, Cowboy. Yes, that’s right, he introduced himself to me as Cowboy. Jim and Cowboy entertained us with their life lessons and heart aches. Mostly about identity theft. Haha.

“Everyone is going to experience identity theft at least once in their life. So get ready for it.” Hahaha. Wise words, Jim, wise words. I think this week is off to a great start.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Events/ Visiting Attractions

Leave a Reply

