Day 121: The BookMobile

Apparently, my mom took my older sisters to the Bethlehem Area Public Library BookMobile all the time. Bec and I, being the younger, less-fortunate offspring never had the chance to go. Well, I’m proud to say that the BookMobile is now bringing books back to the little neighborhood of Cherrywood. And, who do you think took a little walk up with her mom to meet it? ME! (Sorry, Bec… maybe next time.)

I tend to be really sensitive when sad things happen to others, and when approaching the BookMobile and not seeing anyone on the road, I had a sobering thought. What if no one ever comes but us? All of the sudden I just wanted to cry for the person inside that was probably so excited to bring books to neighborhood children! My mom said there used to be lines for the BookMobile when we were little. Today… no one was in sight.

And then I had a second thought. Is it going to be air-conditioned?

To my surprise, it was very cool inside, much bigger than I expected, and… there was already a mom-and-son duo there! This eased my heart. It also helped that the lady running the show wasn’t super warm and friendly. She probably ate little kids for dinner and then wrote books about it and put them on the shelves!

Over the next 10 minutes my mom and I perused the shelves. There weren’t a ton of books (obviously), but there were enough that my indecisiveness kicked in, and I was about to give up on my resolve to find a book to read. I love to read, but I just can’t decide between a lot of things I really like or a lot of things I’m indifferent to. This decision was the latter. While we were there, another mom came in with her 2 sons and the “bigger than expected” space was now a little loud and cramped.

I finally picked out a fiction by an author I didn’t know and stuck with it.

On the walk back to the house, I felt like I was a kid again. Walking in the neighborhood beside my mom with a book in hand. Then I remembered I was coming home to write a blog that would maybe be the first step towards a career in writing to bring some income down the road to support my life as a grown-up, and reality set back in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Events/ Visiting Attractions, Sports/ Activities

4 Comments on “Day 121: The BookMobile”

  1. Kellyn Says:

    I always wondered what it would be like to step inside that place. Thanks for finding out! haha, i acutally thought about stopping by the library the other day just for that same “thrill” feeling of walking away with books…..

  2. Deb Says:

    I wonder if all the books go flying off the shelves if the driver takes a turn too sharp! hahaaa

  3. Deb Says:

    ps…you were still logged in on my computer, luckily for you I’m not in a creative mood and didn’t do anything “fun” to your blog :)


Leave a Reply

