Day 117: Two Firsts! Hiking Bake Oven Knob for the Sunrise and Calling 911

After only 3 hours of sleep, I woke up at 3:30 a.m. this morning,  threw some stuff in a bag, got dressed and made smoothies in our house’s entry room underneath a coat so the sound would be muffled and not wake up my parents. At 4:10 I was off to meet my friends, Chelsea, to hike up Bake Oven Knob for the sunrise. I was super excited!

Our trip held a lot of surprises, and little did we know that even the not-so-good ones had a hand in making this morning a glorious one. We left for the Knob at 4:20 and expected to arrive around 5, giving us extra time to get up to the lookout to watch the sun rise at 5:35. What we didn’t count on was getting lost. I had directions, but the lack of light, and layer of fog played their parts well, and right when we passed the road we wanted, I started to look for the road we wanted. Not seeing familiar territory (as we’re now past where we usually turn), we decided it was further down and kept driving.  It was now 5:15 and we’re entering a small little town that is definitely not where we wanted to be. In fact, it was about a 15 minute drive from where we wanted to be. My heart sank when we realized the mistake. We were going to miss the sunrise. I have been waiting to do this for so long, got up at 3:30 a.m., and did not want to have to plan another blog activity for the day. We just couldn’t miss this sunrise.

Or were we? No! Not if I had anything to do about it, we weren’t.

I always try to and usually succeed in repressing my desire to speed, but this morning, I threw the rules out the window, and let my right foot take over. I tried not to think about the fact that, with the speeding I was doing, if I passed a cop, my license would be taken before I could even try to fake cry my way out (although with my body running high with emotion from a major lack of sleep, my tears would most definitely be real).

About 8 minutes and 2 almost-accidents later, we found the road we had missed. The road that was 10 feet behind us when we decided to look out for it.  Gunning my car up the  mountain to the parking lot, Chels and I decided we would try to run up the trail. The sky was getting a lighter shade of blue by the minute, and all I could think was, “I didn’t drive like that for no reason!”

We pulled into the parking lot, and to our surprise, saw that it was already occupied by a truck. Two guys looked up from their  cigarettes with what I can only imagine were surprised faces due to the fact that at 5:30 a.m., 2 girls come zooming to a stop in the lot, grab their bags, lock their doors, and book it for the trail entrance. (Little did they know that we were also booking it so that they wouldn’t have time to even think about attacking us before we were out of sight.

We ran the first leg of the trail, but once we started hitting rocks, we were gasping for air, and forced ourselves to slow our pace. The sky was so light! Not seeing sunrises on a consistent (or even annual) basis, I wasn’t sure what colors come first, and assumed we had missed the actual sunrise! I was so nervous coming up towards the lookout, and as we stepped out into the clearing, took a deep breath…

What I saw made my breath catch in my throat. Breath-taking. We had made it the exact minute the tip of the sun was peeking up over the mountains. We had made it just in time. And it was beautiful. No, beautiful doesn’t even do the picture justice. It was majestic. Thank you, Lord!

It was so perfect also, because there weren’t really any clouds covering the sun, but there were beautiful clouds all over the sky, and the layers of fog on the ground made the mountains and valleys look so enchanting. Later, the entire sky was covered in fog, and we couldn’t see 15 feet in front of us, It was crazy! A wall of white replaced the view we had seen only 20 minutes ago!

We spent the next hour watching the sun transform the world, bathing it in an ever-changing array of colors. We also used this time to celebrate and praise God, who created the sun and every color of the sunrise. It was a beautiful way to start the day.

When we were almost back to the lot, we were ready to take on any attacking men, but breathed a sigh of relief when we saw that their truck was gone. And then our next surprise came up. As I was nearing my car, I realized that their were random object strewn on the gravel next to it. Lip gloss tubes, someone’s opened mail, a fishing license… this was odd. It got even more weird when I realized Chelsea was quietly observing something on her side of the car too. A check book, checks, and a parole letter were added to the list. We wondered if these things were here when we first pulled in, but then Chels noticed there were more things under our car as well. She then proceeded to pull out someone’s car keys.

We were now really worried. These object were definitely the contents of a women’s purse. We found her name and address on some of the opened bills and, after talking to Chels’ mom, decided to call 911 with the information. It could have been nothing but a case of leaving a purse on a car and driving away. But, it could also have been much more. We figured we just let the police know in case anything on this woman came up.

I was nervous about calling 911. I had never been in a situation where I had to call 911 or the police. Chels voiced the same feelings, and it was soon decided that I would be the one to make the call. (Well, really it was Chels who decided that :). I explained the situation to the 911 responder, and she transferred me to the local police. After repeating the information, the officer thanked us and said he’s have someone go up and check it out. Good. We had done our part, and we were now ready to go home. And this time… I took the drive nice and slow.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Explore posts in the same categories: Sports/ Activities

3 Comments on “Day 117: Two Firsts! Hiking Bake Oven Knob for the Sunrise and Calling 911”

  1. Chelsea Knechel Says:

    put the pics on fb…the boogy picking one could be my new profile pic. ;)

    • Sarah Sullivan Says:

      haha, chels, i’m surprised. out of all the things you could have inserted a comment on, you pick the boogy picture? hahaha!

  2. Susanna Says:

    wow these pics are gorgeous!!


Leave a Reply

