Day 108: Getting a massage!

I have been looking forward to this day for the past 107 days! (Well, actually the past 20-some years.) The only reason it took me so long to finally get a massage was because they were always a little too pricey for my budget. It wasn’t until a few weeks ago that I found a somewhat mini-massage offered at a lower price at Always Pretty Salon & Spa! (I always hear them advertised on the Word FM radio station and just recently went to their website.)

I was super excited about this, and immediately scheduled an appt. for the 15-minute head, neck and shoulder massage. Prior to, I had no idea what to expect, and on the way to the salon, all these random questions were running through my mind. Would I be lying on a table or sitting in a chair? Am I going to have to change into a different shirt? Is it going to hurt a bit or just feel really good? (I have super sensitive shoulders haha)

Once I got into the salon, the receptionist asked me if my appt. was with Scott or Carol. Scott?? I hadn’t even thought that it might be a man giving me the massage. Before I could even ask myself if that would be weird, I knew it wouldn’t. A woman’s hands, a man’s hands… what the heck, I could have cared less, I was getting a massage!

As it was, Carol (who is actually the owner of the Always Pretty and very sweet), was going to massage me and led me to an upstairs room that was very dark. She turned on some soothing music and then had me take a seat on an ottoman, telling me I didn’t have to change clothes. Well that answered those questions.

The next 15 minutes were wonderful and went by way too fast! In the beginning my shoulders were a bit sensitive, but after a minute, I was in heaven. I was very surprised by a lot of the “moves” she was doing. I wouldn’t have thought to do something like them (if I were giving a massage to a friend), and after she very strangely stretched and pulled on my neck muscles (which felt great, by the way), I thought she couldn’t surprise me anymore. And then she did. She actually massaged my face! Around my forehead, my brow bones, my cheeks, my ears! It was the weirdest thing, but I loved it! I knew then that she was definitely out of surprises.

She wasn’t. At the end, she put a hand on my forehead and a hand at the back of my neck, and slowly moved my head forwards and back, forwards and back, around in a circle and side to side. It was so weird, I wasn’t controlling it, she was! Then, she moved her hands away so slowly that, for what seemed like forever, I could still feel their warmth, but knew they weren’t touching me. And then I got confused. Were they touching me? I couldn’t tell if her hands were still on my head or not! It was so crazy! And yet, I LOVED it! I just felt like I could melt into a warm, mushy puddle.

Walking down the stairs to the receptionist, I felt like I could fall over if I didn’t pay attention to my steps, so relaxed was I. Thank you, Carol! I now can’t wait to try out the bamboo fusion massage! I will definitely be frequenting Always Pretty, as I suggest you all do. They offer everything from hair/nail and makeup services (including permanent) to facials, body treatments, microdermabrasion, massages, and waxing. (They even have ear candling, whatever that is!)

Sigh. I am going to marry a masseuse one day. I wonder if Prince Harry has ever taken massage lessons. We’ll have to work on that;)

P.S.  I have never liked seafood (with the exception of tuna from a can), but tonight I had some delicious Tilapia made by my friend, Annemarie, and actually liked it! Now, that, is a first!

Explore posts in the same categories: Sports/ Activities

One Comment on “Day 108: Getting a massage!”

  1. Emily Says:

    I got a facial from carol before my wedding. Best purchase of my life, by far!


Leave a Reply

