Day 99: Making Pop-Tarts!

So once again I had a unique recipe burning a hole in my brain from purplefoodie.com and I had to try it. It’s for pop-tarts. Yes, that’s right, those dessert squares that are disguised as breakfast food, even though we all know they’re dessert, can be created in your very own kitchen! Who knew, right? Not me.

Today I asked my sister, Deb, if she ever made pop-tarts, and she was like, “Uh, yeah! I used to make them all the time!”  to which I replied, “No, Deb, home-made ones.”   …”Oh. You can’t make pop-tarts.”

This is exactly the response I was hoping to get, and this was actually my response when I first saw this recipe.  I was going to make pop-tarts. So I did.

But… my pop-tarts didn’t really turn out. I made three kinds: strawberry, nutella, and smores (nutella and marshmallows), and I followed the recipe, but here is what I think went wrong: I used the wrong kind of pie crust. Actually, I didn’t use pie crust, I used pastry crust. Ding Ding Ding, there’s problem #1. It was more like a pastry strudel consistency (which I love, but not for these). The crust was too firm to work with, so I heated it a bit, but didn’t realize how strong our microwave was until I pulled the crust out and some of it was too gooey or even starting to get cooked. Ding Ding Ding, problem #2. Then, I loaded them up with lots of filling. Ding Ding Ding, problem #3. Way too much filling. I could barely close the little things. And there you have it, ladies and gentlemen, the 3 problems that turned what should have been delicious pop-tarts, into still-delicious flop-tarts.

They were so good though, and if they had been as aesthetically pleasing to my eyes as they were tastefully pleasing to my tongue, then I would have deemed them perfect.

I figured that since I am at the point where my mom can’t tell me to eat an actual nutritious breakfast, I was going to make these pop-tarts in her own kitchen and eat them for breakfast every day until they were gone, just to spite her for all the years I heard,  “That sugar cereal is only for snacks!”

But, seeing as how I just can’t give up my cereal and blueberries in the morning,  I guess I’ll just have to eat all the pop-tarts tonight.

Explore posts in the same categories: Cooking/ Food

Leave a Reply

