Day 92: Dried Apple Chips

So once again I was hooked and reeled into The Purple Foodie’s delicious recipe page. I would have loved to have made something chocolatey, but I wanted to go for a healthy option and was trying to find something that was unlike anything I’ve made before, in a category all it’s own. That is when I stumbled upon her recipe for Apple Chips. I think it’s kind of crazy that you can dry your own fruit, but most people don’t think to do it. I don’t particularly like dried fruit (except for the delicious from the San Lorenzo Market in Florence- if you go, you must try them all! My sister will attest to their amazing-ness!), so I’ve never tried drying it before, but I thought apple chips sounded delicious and the cinnamon and sugar topping lured me in (I realize this is the second time I’ve used fishing terminology in this food post- weird?).

The recipe was rather easy except that it says to use a mandolin to slice the apples. I didn’t have one. So I got out the knife I thought would be the best for the job and cut away like a pro. I think my slices turned out great, if I do say so myself. And I do. My slices were great.

Now they’re supposed to bake in the oven for 1.5-2 hours, with extra time depending on the apples. The recipe called for Gala or Granny Smith apples. I used Pink Ladys. Oops. I am thinking that this must make a big difference in terms of moisture in the apple, because after 3 hours of being in the oven, my “chips” were more like soft, chewy disks. And to make matters worse, the pieces were all sticking to the parchment paper. I literally had to rip them off and throw a third of them away because I couldn’t get the two separated. (And the recipe specifically said parchment paper!!) Remember when making the truffles, I said that I’m always ready for something to go wrong because for some reason it always does? Well here is a perfect example. I followed the recipe and what do I get? Failure… handed to me on a baking sheet.

I think that next time I make these I will use gala apples, wax paper, and a mandolin.

What the heck… forget making them, I’ll just buy the stupid things next time.

Explore posts in the same categories: Cooking/ Food

2 Comments on “Day 92: Dried Apple Chips”

  1. Morgan Says:

    What was the oven temp? I feel like if it was below 300, they would need to bake for like, the entire day… or you could just flash/broil them for like an hour at 450. I have a fruit dehydrator and when I make these it takes like 8 hrs! You are right in blaming the recipe. Who can you trust these days…

    • Sarah Sullivan Says:

      haha, you can’t trust anyone! but no, it was 175 and yea i remember my mom would dry fruit for days in her dehydrator when i was little, but these are supposed to be quicker… i think too i should flip them half way through cause the top was pretty dry but not the bottom.


Leave a Reply

