Day 87: Writing Congratulations to Prince William and Princess Catherine

If I was writing a wedding note to my close friends, I would have no problem using a tacky “Roses are red, violets are blue” poem. I would probably  make a joke about popping out babies and tell them to send their discarded wedding gifts my way. But this isn’t a wedding note my friends. This is a wedding note to Prince William and his blushing bride.  (And although I might pretend that I’m their BFF, when it comes to reality, well, they don’t know me at all and never, ever will.) This note needs to be fit for a king (or, a prince and princess).

I didn’t even know where to start- home-made card or store-bought? Bright and colorful and Sarah-ized or formal, simple and elegant? Blue and silver or brown and gold? Charming and sophisticated message or silly, loving, fun poem? All these options! I was at a loss for what would be perfect for the happy, royal couple and it was getting me frustrated. Especially when I knew it really didn’t matter! They were never going to see this dang letter anyway! In fact, it would probably get in the hands of some snooty little English boy named Henley who gets paid (along with hundreds of others) to read and sort the mail (if they even read them at all), and then get thrown out. Still, I was taking forever to complete this dang thing. I finally decided to be decisive and made up my mind: Simple, elegant, hand-made with a nice, encouraging, sophisticated message. This is what I came up with and if you don’t like it, I don’t care, and I’m betting Henley won’t either.

Yes, I know it's blurry. That's so you can't read my personal note to the couple:) haha

The blur was intentional...so you couldn't read my personal thoughts to the happy couple:) haha

Why yes, that is embossed writing you see on the front

Now, I know this wasn’t necessarily the newest things I could’ve done, but I’ve never written to Royalty (and the Windsors are in a class all by themselves!). I originally had planned to do a solo, sunset hike tonight, but those plans got botched due to parental concern for my safety (ugh). So last minute my sister gave me the idea to write a congratulatory note to Prince William and and the soon-to-be Princess Catherine. In light of there wedding tomorrow (!!!), I thought this was a wonderful idea. Unfortunately, the last-minute-ness of this is making for a late night and I had (still have?) plans to watch the wedding live (at 6 a.m. our time!) tomorrow morning. Good luck Prince William and Kate!

Explore posts in the same categories: Crafts/ Home-made objects

7 Comments on “Day 87: Writing Congratulations to Prince William and Princess Catherine”

  1. Issy Says:

    I would like to write to them and congratulate them but I don’t know the address. Would you mind telling me ?
    Issy ihaschel@hotmail.com

  2. Marty Says:

    Just wondered what others think about whether it would be safe to hike up to Bake Oven Knob at sunset – by yourself?

    “I originally had planned to do a solo, sunset hike tonight, but those plans got botched due to parental concern for my safety (ugh).”

  3. lauren Says:

    do know what address to send the letter to????

  4. http://andcarinsurancequotes.com Says:

    Great post once again! Thanks;)


Leave a Reply

