Day 66: My Fair Lady

This week’s gloomy weather has put me in a gloomy mood, and so I decided to forgo my Plan A and embraced the night with the classic film: My Fair Lady.

Previous to tonight, I had no knowledge of this film other than knowing it existed. It was to my pleasant surprise, then, that Audrey Hepburn herself, star of my latest classic pick, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, played the film’s main role. I also found out that my next 3 hours were to be filled with tacky, badly-choreographed songs. That’s right, folks- it’s a musical! In fact, among the 8 Oscars My Fair Lady brought home was the award for Best Music.

Despite the slow beginning and peppering of tacky songs, I rather enjoyed the plot line of this film. Audrey Hepburn cast as Eliza, a poor flower girl uneducated in the social graces, stars opposite Rex Harrison who plays the cold-hearted bachelor, Professor Higgins, who takes on the challenge of transforming her into a lady. (Harrison’s role as the Professor won him an Oscar for Best Actor in a Leading Role) Throughout the film you soon discover that love can blossom in the most unexpected relationships, and that Eliza is not the only one being transformed. (Wow, that was totally cheesy- I should write Hallmark cards.)

Now that I’ve said I enjoyed the plot line, I will say this: it could have been done better. I don’t know if it’s because I’m accustomed to the modern-day romantic comedies with their perfect people, perfect scenes, and perfect endings, but I found myself frustrated with some of the aspects of this particular movie. For example, take the professor. He already has the flaw of being cold-hearted and proud, and so you would think that they would make him an attractive man for the beautiful Eliza. But, no. What you get is an almost haggard-looking man twice her age. This would not be my first choice, but OK, I got over it by the time the intermission came.

Moving on, I give this film an A for beautiful fashion!

 

 

 

 

 

Here are two of the very many quotes I loved:

 

“I sold flowers; I didn’t sell myself. Now you’ve made a lady of me, I’m not fit to sell anything else.” -Eliza

“I’ve grown accustomed to her face.
She almost makes the day begin.
I’ve grown accustomed to the tune that
She whistles night and noon.
Her smiles, her frowns,
Her ups, her downs
Are second nature to me now;
Like breathing out and breathing in.
I’ve grown accustomed to her look;
Accustomed to her voice;
Accustomed to her face.”

– sung by the Professor

Explore posts in the same categories: Movies/ Books

Leave a Reply

