Day 56: I Built A Little Boat!

You really can find anything at A.C. Moore. Even kits to build wooden boats! And that is exactly what I found, got sucked into buying, and built.

I would like to think that if I had a hobbie that involved building small models of something, it would be of boats. Or planes. They both fascinate me. However, when it comes to boats, it is the old fashioned sailing ships that I like. You know, the pirate ship kind. I would have loved to sail back in the day on an old ship. Not the Titanic, though (well, I guess if I met a ‘Jack’ it would be worth it:), but that wasn’t a sailing ship like the ones I like.

Anyways, so like I was saying, I bought this little wooden boat kit and literally felt like an excited 7 year-old boy all the way home. The only thing that might have made me more excited would be a puppy.

I treated this ship as if I were the captain and it was my baby. I painted it, assembled the masts, glued all these wooden pieces on, and finished it off with the string and sails.

I think it looks pretty dang good, if I do say so myself! I mean…it’s nothing like this beauty, but it’s a start.

My sister just came in the house and asked my mom what I was doing today for my blog (I’m in the other room, but can hear the exchange). My mom told her it was on the table and after a moment of silence I hear, “That little ship thing? Aw!”

Yes, yes I know it’s cute. Thank you.

Explore posts in the same categories: Crafts/ Home-made objects

3 Comments on “Day 56: I Built A Little Boat!”

  1. Deb Says:

    you should put it in water to see if it really floats!

  2. Susanna Says:

    well looks like jake got a new toy!!!


Leave a Reply

