Day 53: Exploring Ithaca, NY

OK, so I know this is Sunday, but day 53 was on Friday. I spent the weekend in New York state, which I love. It is so gorgeous! (No offense, PA- you’ll always be my home)

the Commons

My cousin, Jim, went to Ithaca College and lives and breathes Ithaca, and because we were on our way to Rochester, we spent the day there. The first place I went to was the Ithaca Commons in downtown. The Commons is an outdoor walking strip that is lined with quaint shops and eateries. Let me just say that before I got there, Jim and his wife, Heather, had been telling me that I was going to be experiencing some pretty interesting people. They didn’t comment further on this, so I was left in the dark as to what they meant. I soon found out.

Ithaca was full of hippies! Great people, I think, but yes, very interesting. The day was super cold (just my luck) and not many people were walking around outside- I don’t know why I was- but I imagined that the strip would be bustling with hippies on a warm day. I ducked into a bookstore that looked ancient and ran into a dread-locked old man that was thumbing through a $1 book rack. He held a coffee in his gloved hands and he wore a thread-bare coat that looked like it had seen a decade of better days. I unfortunately didn’t find any good books on that rack. Anyways, the book store was creepy so I made a quick exit.

Continuing down the Commons, I was given a pleasant surprise in the form of a Ten Thousand Villages shop. I have always seen this organization represented at fairs and christian events, but have never had a chance to really learn what they were about. I went inside and looked through the countless beautiful pieces.

The Mate Cafe

My next stop was The Mate Cafe. This place was incredible. I felt like I had stepped into a different world. A hippie world. It was decorated with a live tree, plants everywhere and beautiful wood that created the booths, furniture, and huts that hung over the cashier. If you want to read a very detailed, probably boring description of the cafe and my experience there, you can do that here.

My cousin Jim then took me on a drive through the Cornell campus. It was beautiful and filled with old buildings. I also found out that Cornell has a high suicide rate and we drove over a bridge that has been dubbed ‘suicide bridge’, for obvious reasons. It now has fencing along either side of it.

The rest of the day consisted of driving to waterfalls and admiring Cayuga Lake, which was the most beautiful shade of turquoise. The picture doesn’t do it justice. We also stopped at Purity Ice Cream and I think that my scoop chocolate peanut butter cup ice cream just might have been the highlight of the day:)

Ithaca was beautiful. It’s amazing how each town is so different from the next. Ithaca seemed to be from a different country, but at the same time was so familiar to me. I suggest you go and explore it one day.

Cayuga Lake

This waterfall is higher than Niagra Falls. Notice the people on the bottom right.

Explore posts in the same categories: Events/ Visiting Attractions, Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Day 53: Exploring Ithaca, NY”

  1. coachctv Says:

    That is one beautiful waterfall. Nice picture.

  2. Deb Says:

    there’s s 10 thousand villages shop at the mall


Leave a Reply

