Day 49: Make Fabric & Button Cards

I love writing and sending good ‘ol fashioned hand-written letters to my family and friends, so I am always on the lookout for cute, not-so-ordinary note cards. I recently saw some creative ones at Barnes &Noble and decided I would try to re-create the look on my own cards.

The cards I was trying to mimic were beautifully hand-made. There was stitched-on fabric in the shapes of birds, fish, swirls, flowers and fun designs. I thought they looked pretty simple to make so I headed to A.C. Moore to buy card stock and swatches of quilting fabric. Selecting the fabric was an impossible decision; I loved all of them.

When it comes to arts & crafts like this I have a tendency to want to be a perfectionist. I realized half way through that I couldn’t have perfect expectations and that my cards weren’t going to look like the ones in Barnes & Noble.

It took me a while to decide what kind of tree design I wanted on the card and what bird shape I wanted to cut the fabric into. In the end, I chose to keep it simple so that there would be a better shot of it looking perfect;)

I started stitching on one of my fabric birds and it immediately started fraying. Super. So I made another one, which I think actually turned out better than the first one. I decided to glue it to the card first and then stitch around the outline. Well, let’s just say that my needle might have been too big, because it didn’t go so well. Not only did it take forever, but the card started to just look all chopped up around the bird! I finished underneath both wings and stopped there. I nixed the stitching for the second bird. Instead, I just lightly poked an outline around the birds with the needle and got an interesting but beautiful lining effect (unfortunately, you can’t really see it in the picture).

I looked at my finished card. It looked kind of plain. What could I add to ma- BUTTONS! I love buttons! I found some great flower buttons in my mom’s button tin and added some. Much better.

Having forgone the stitching already, my second card was much easier to make. I think I’ll make some more tonight and try to be more detailed and elaborate, but I wanted to get this post up so you all can read it before bed:). If my next few cards are worthy, I’ll put pictures of them up tomorrow.

Maybe, if you give me your address, I might just send you one! :D

Tomorrow I’m going to be making my own cowhide moccasins! Yes, I know, I’m excited too.

Explore posts in the same categories: Crafts/ Home-made objects

4 Comments on “Day 49: Make Fabric & Button Cards”

  1. Morgan Says:

    I love the buttons!! And I can’t wait for moccasin day!! I love you and miss you much.

  2. coachctv Says:

    Those are awesome! I’ll be expecting my card shortly.

  3. Anne Says:

    These look amazing! I would buy these at Barnes & Noble!


  4. […] onto the kite’s tail. It was actually leftover fabric from when I made my fabric cards on Day 49. The colors were a nice touch, seeing as how my kite is the color of death. I don’t know why […]


Leave a Reply

