Day 47: Go To A Revolving Restaurant

Due to the late hour of my arrival home after this experience, I am just now writing about this… it is actually yesterday’s happenings.

To celebrate Bec’s 25th birthday, Bec, our friends Dana and Amy, and I headed into the Big Apple to go to The View Restaurant at the Marriott Marquis in Times Square. The View is a revolving rooftop restaurant. Yes, I know… awesome. I have never been to a revolving bar before (obviously) and was really looking forward to it. I was picturing something akin to the Space Needle in Seattle that would be spinning around at a decent clip, kind of like an amusement park kiddie ride. This was going to be awesome.

When we got to the Marriott we realized that night awesome would have to wait a few minutes as we got lost trying to find the space tower. We ended up on like three different floors before finally discovering the Express Elevator a.k.a. the hidden pathway to the revolving paradise (OK so it seemed like it was hidden!).

Let me tell you, stepping off the elevator into the restaurant was a bit disappointing. Actually, a lot disappointing. This wasn’t like a ride! Where was the speed? Remember how I told you I like speed? Well, I wasn’t going to be getting any here. We were all a bit let down and tried not to let it show. If I remember correctly, I think we even came up with some reasoning such as “Maybe they slow it down to let people on and then it gets faster again.” Now that would really make it like an amusement park ride, and I knew that that wasn’t going to happen. I had to face the facts: I was stuck in slow motion for the night.

The set-up of the restaurant was really cool.  The elevator, kitchen, bathrooms and hostess area were in the middle of the big circular room and were not moving. Then all the seating was around the outside of the restaurant which was a big circle that revolved around the non-moving, middle platform. The perfect example of this is the Hershey World chocolate ride. You know how the cars are moving on an outer platform when you get to the front of the line and you have to walk onto the moving platform to get on? Well picture that moving 10 times slower and you’re right on track.

I have to admit that the view was spectacular. I guess it made up for the lack of speed. We were on the 48th floor and had a wonderful view of the surrounding skyline of Times Square. Unfortunately we didn’t have a table right next to the glass wall, but you can’t complain when you’re looking out over New York City from the 48th floor. In the two hours that we were there we made about two full rotations.

By the end of the night I figured it was better that we weren’t rotating fast. It wouldn’t be a good idea to have my stomach, filled with food and drink, going in circles. However, I still think it would be cooler to have a 48th floor, 360′ view of the city from a faster moving room. They should add a second-floor, no-food or drink observation deck. I should tell them.

If you’re looking for a fun, romantic or new dining experience I suggest you take a trip over to The View.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Events/ Visiting Attractions

Leave a Reply

