A Day 47 Update

Today is the 47th day of this blog project which means I am officially past the quarter mark! Yippee!

I thought I would give you a little update on my feelings.

Where do I begin? I guess I’ll tell you up front what my thoughts right now are exactly. Looking back on the last 47 days, I’m wondering where the time went. I can’t believe I’ve made it this far. I honestly wasn’t sure I would be able to, and there were many times I wanted to throw in the towel and be done with the project. This last thought brings me to my next feeling- complete overwhelming stress followed by resignation when I think about the fact that I still have 134 more days to go. I’M ONLY A QUARTER OF THE WAY THROUGH?!? You’ve got to be kidding me! I knew, going into this project, that it would be hard. What I wasn’t counting on was the stress and emotion that comes with that hard aspect.

Now don’t get me wrong. I am enjoying the excitement of learning new things, and I do love writing about them, knowing that so many of you love reading about them. However, it is still a bit much. I guess to explain it to you more I’ll use the analogy of driving. I LOVE driving. It’s one of my favorite things to do, and I will tell you I go on drive even if I have nowhere to go. Yet, there is nothing I hate more than driving when I’m exhausted. Whether I’m coming home after a late night out with friends or babysitting or I’m driving at 5 in the morning after 4 hours of sleep, if I’m tired, I just want to be at my destination already and get away from the steering wheel. My drive starts to get dull- I don’t care about what music I’m listening to, I don’t care if I’m going a little under the speed limit, I don’t care if it’s beautiful scenery around me.

Well, that’s kind of what this blog is like. I love trying new things and I love writing. But, I’ve hit this point where I’m tired. I’m tired of doing new things, I’m tired of writing. So I must say that there are times when I am just ready to be done with this project and step away from my laptop.  And as with driving, my writing gets dull. I write with less humor and literary spunk and end up with a list of steps I took.  I have to admit, though, that this project is really giving me some insight into a writing career. Having somewhat of a deadline to write the posts, doing “research” for my posts, and most importantly, trying to keep each post fresh and exciting.

Having said this, I want to thank you for putting up with the sometimes-dry posts or boring experiences. I have gotten such wonderful feed back from many of you and I appreciate the support I get in continuing with these experiences.

As summer approaches and brings warm weather, I am thinking that the real fun experiences haven’t even begun.

Tonight I am going to a revolving, rooftop bar in NYC (yes it actually spins!), but won’t be getting back until late, so you will have to wait for Day 47’s report until tomorrow :) Now this is one experience I really am excited for!

Looking back, here are some of my new experiences that I am definitely going to continue:

paying for the car behind me

baking pies (not apple, though)

watching classic movies

getting a pedicure

taking yoga classes

getting better at driving a stick shift car

country line dancing

winter beach trips

And here are some I won’t be continuing, because I hated them:

learning to knit

cooking a live lobster

going on a blind date (i didn’t hate my date, it was fun; but the blind date experience is not my preference)

make fastnachts or any other kind of fried doughnut

making soap

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “A Day 47 Update”

  1. Chelsea Knechel Says:

    Thanks for sharing your feelings with us. :)

  2. Anne Says:

    I haven’t read for a while… I missed the fastnachts and will have to go back in time to check that out. I had fun making the Polish version with my mom!


Leave a Reply

