Day 44: Take A Self-Defense Class

I remember one Christmas, years ago, my sister Susanna and I asked our parents for a punching bag. Our reasoning behind this wasn’t so we could get good at boxing or karate. It was so that we wouldn’t give into our desires and punch our sister in the face. I’ll just come out and say it: I like violence. Now, I know that sounds awful and is completely wrong, so let me explain. I like violence in the context of a mean person getting what they deserve from a victim. I like it when the bad guy gets ‘served’. Yes, I know, it’s still wrong. I agree with you, that this way of thinking is wrong, but because I am a human with sin inside me, I have to admit that it is still there.

I think Ron Paul gives a good justification of violence when he says, “Legitimate use of violence can only be that which is required  in self-defense.”  I agree with this reasoning. If someone is attacking me, I sure am not going to sit like a duck thinking that it would be wrong to defend myself.

I’d like to think that if someone was attacking me, I’d be able to kick their butt (provided they don’t have a weapon). I have aggression. I have energy. I’m decently fit. And I love to fight bad people (ya know- ’cause I do it all the time). However, I am also realistic and the reality is that I have no idea how I would react and who knows if I might not just freeze up. Recently a girlfriend of mine almost got attacked in a parking lot. Hearing her story and then having a nightmare a few weeks later about being attacked myself brought me to the conclusion that I need to be more prepared. I can’t live in lala land and assume I’ll turn into Elektra or Iron Man.

I found a free women’s self-defense workshop (YES- another free class! I’m telling you, you people need to start google-ing… there are tons of freebies out there!) hosted by Leading Edge Martial Arts. I ended up having to go by myself, which I didn’t think would be a big deal. I quickly changed my mind when I sat down to stretch by myself in a room full of circles of women gabbing with their friends. There was one other woman I noticed that was by herself, but I didn’t want to do the awkward “I came from across the room because I think we could both use the moral support” move. Instead I decided to make the best of it and resorted back to a favorite pastime of mine: people watching.

I really enjoyed the workshop. We learned some effective punching, kicking, and kneeing moves, and some that consisted of all three. I guess if I had to have my choice of attack, I’d choose to have someone come up to me from behind and put an arm around my neck. Then I would get a chance to pull out my favorite move from the night- the Grab, Hook and Floor Throw. …OK, so I kind of came up with that name myself. But it doesn’t matter what it is called, all you need to know and love about this move is that in the end your opponent is on the floor, and you put them there. (OK, maybe I like violence a little too much).

I asked my Dad if I could show him a move when I got home (totally had the GHFT in mind) and he said, “Make it quick.” So quick I did. …The good news is that I did it right. The bad news is that my dad didn’t. Sooo, he might just have a little bit of a sore arm in the morning. Thank you, self-defense.

Now, after taking the class I feel empowered by the little knowledge I learned of how to protect myself. But I am also empowered because I discovered just why I should learn self defense. It’s not about wanting the ability to fight, it’s about having the protection so that I don’t have to. I know…that was cryptic. Here’s a quote from the original The Karate Kid that addresses this mindset. A mindset that I am still trying to understand, yet hoping to adopt.

Daniel: You mean there were times when you were scared to fight?
Miyagi: Always scare. Miyagi hate fighting.
Daniel: Yeah, but you like karate.
Miyagi: So?
Daniel: So, karate’s fighting. You train to fight.
Miyagi: That what you think?
Daniel: [pondering] No.
Miyagi: Then why train?
Daniel: [thinks] So I won’t have to fight.
Miyagi: [laughs] Miyagi have hope for you.

Explore posts in the same categories: Sports/ Activities

4 Comments on “Day 44: Take A Self-Defense Class”

  1. Chelsea Knechel Says:

    we want pictures!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Deb Says:

    hahaha..this reminds me of Bek trying her take down move on me that she learned at KP! I can’t remember if you were there or not….but it was realllllly funny!


Leave a Reply

