Day 28: Henna Tatoos

Henna is a plant that grows in Africa and South Asia and is used as a dye for the hair and body. It is traditionally used as a decorative body art for celebrations and festivals. Henna tattoos can last anywhere from 1 to 4 weeks.

I’ve always thought that the traditional henna tattoos were beautiful and have wanted to get a henna tattoo. My friend, Frankie, and I share this desire and about a year or two ago we bought a DIY henna tattoo kit from Barnes & Noble. It was a cheap kit and the process wasn’t true to the traditional henna. We ended up not getting our tattoos that day, but promised that one day we would be successful in our mission to get henna tattoos. Today seemed like a good day to fulfill that promise.

A.C. Moore had a Mehndi Henna kit that looked promising, even though I have no idea what ‘Mehndi’ is. I had a 40% off coupon for A.C. Moore (in Sunday’s paper) so it was only 9 bucks! That was a steal! I called Frankie up and we set out on our Indian journey of beautification.

After the dye gets mixed together it needs to set for 45 minutes. I hate it when activities have setting time involved. I just want to get to the finished product already, is that too much to ask? While we waited, we looked up interesting henna tattoo designs to get an idea of what we wanted.  If you google “henna designs” there are some beautiful examples of tattoos we can never have. How depressing.

When we were ready to henna, Frankie made me go first (so she could learn what not to do :D ). I started with simple swirls. It looked too plain, I thought, so I added some more swirls. Now it looked lacking, as if it hadn’t quite reached its potential. I threw in some lines for good measure. Eh…  Oh, what the heck, let’s add some paisleys too, at this point It can’t get any worse. The more I put on the less I liked it, so I kept adding more, hoping that would make it look better. This is the part where I realize I should have gotten the tattoo done professionally.

Frankie kept her design more simple and it turned out beautiful. She said the same of mine, but I guess we all want what we don’t have, right?

The henna now has to sit for 3 to 12 hours (depending on how dark or lasting you want it to be) before you wash it off, leaving the skin dyed. Knowing me, I’ll wash it off in 2.

Looking at my arm I tell myself that I should’ve done it somewhere more discreet. I don’t like it. It looks awkward and ugly and orange. Frankie described it perfectly when she said, “It looks like I scribbled on my wrist with orange sharpie.”

Well, at least I don’t have anything important coming up to attend. I spoke my thoughts out loud and my sister just smiled at me and said, “You’ll still have it for your blind date on Saturday!”  Crap.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Crafts/ Home-made objects, Hobbies/ Skills, Sports/ Activities

2 Comments on “Day 28: Henna Tatoos”

  1. Geri Says:

    Hysterical, it’s HUGE Sarah! But fun nonetheless! Blind date on Saturday? I guess I didn’t follow up fast enough for the one I had in mind? Sorry. Can’t wait to hear all abou tit.


Leave a Reply

