Day 8: Watch The Classic ‘Casablanca’

Casablanca. Every time I here of this movie, my thoughts run along two lines: “In Spanish that means ‘white house'” and “Lorelei and Rory Gilmore LOVE that movie!” Yea, I figured  I should probably watch the movie so that next time someone makes reference to it, I could actually carry on an intellectual conversation about it (because everyone loves hearing about old romantic movies? yea, I think not). But really, I thought it would be a good idea to familiarize myself with the old classic stories that seem to lend so much to the hearts and minds of the people (most specifically, the writers- who are the exact people I myself am hoping to be among one day) shaping thoughts today. Now I know some might say Casablanca isn’t comparable to classics such as It’s a Wonderful Life, Gone With the Wind, or the collection by Alfred Hitchcock, however, it is the one I seem to hear about constantly, and that is reason enough for me to choose it.

I love classic movies. They seem to have a way to make you feel so wonderful inside. But who are we fooling? Many of them are extremely boring, and I credit that to the fact that we are now spoiled, our minds trained, to always having stimulation through special effects, vivid colors, and plain-and-simple, in-your-face dialogue that our brains don’t have to work at understanding (except for The Social Network, I must say most of the conversation was lost on me after just the first scene). I had heard that Casablanca was a very tedious and boring movie to watch. The kind that requires your attention every minute so you know what’s going on, but loses your attention every 3 minutes because of it’s slow plot line and lack of color. This was what I heard, and that’s why it’s taken me 22 years to watch it.

So today I rented it from the library (which I have just re-discovered, and why haven’t I been renting free movies from there my entire life?). My mom, who also told me she remembered it being a slow movie, started to watch it with me, but left after 20 minutes to go do something that was more worth her time. I don’t know of anything that could be more worth your time than watching Casablanca, but oh well, her loss:). It started off slow and, uh-oh, political. My mind is not wired for politics unless they are explained high-school-text-book style. However, about a half hour in, the love triangle began, and all was put right. And then, fifteen minutes, the movie really began. All of the sudden I found myself trying to keep up with which guy wanted what and why and to whom he had to go to get it but wouldn’t get it because the guy to whom he had to get it from didn’t get what he wanted from the woman that was with the guy whom wanted what he had. There you go. You practically just watched Casablanca, AND it’s on a screen and in black and white too!

After the movie, I’m now so excited to watch Gilmore Girls now and actually understand their witty, Casablanca references! Before watching it, I knew that the well-known quote, “Here’s lookin’ at you, kid.”, came from Casablanca, BUT I had no idea that the movie closed on the infamous quote: “Louis, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.” When I heard that, I felt like I had just been given a big congratulations for staying awake through the movie. It was a wonderful thing.

So here are my conclusions regarding the movie:

The plot line was wonderful. There was romance, mystery, some twists and turns along the way, and sacrifice of love and happiness for the well-being of others. And as a bonus, you get to watch Humphrey Bogart in all his glory. What more could you ask for? Well, for starters, color would be nice. I’m sorry I’m spoiled, but I just like to see what color their hair and eyes are, and the dresses the women are wearing and the scenery around them! It also helps me keep their faces straight- they all look alike in black and white! Color and a bit of a quickened pace would have made the movie perfect. Overall, I give it 3.5 stars out of five.  I don’t think it’s a must-see, but I think it is a should-see. (Insert plug for your public library’s DVD section here.)

Tomorrow, I’m going to visit and take a tour of the Martin Guitar Factory & Museum.

Explore posts in the same categories: Movies/ Books

9 Comments on “Day 8: Watch The Classic ‘Casablanca’”

  1. Sarah Sullivan Says:

    Just to start some conversation…..in this blog you stated that our minds are trained to expect certain things…or we are looking for faster paced action…..is that a good thing or a bad thing? Anybody?


  2. Sorry….I, Marty, left the comment – not Sarah …..and FYI I had already seen the movie and did have other things to do……..

  3. Susanna Says:

    I would say expectations are rarely good but anticipation can be great!! There is a difference.

  4. blondiy0212 Says:

    I can say this sounds to much like a “class” so I’m not going to add any input hahahaaaa…. ;)

  5. blondiy0212 Says:

    *too*

  6. Geri Says:

    I agree, the characters all look alkie in black and white! Why is that? I might also add, I had to watch Casablanca in college for a Radio, TV and Film class and never made it through the whole thing as I fell asleep. You have inspired me to try it again! BTW I adore this blog!


  7. […] was that I didn’t want to be let down. I had heard great, great things about it and like Casablanca, my previous movie classic pick, it seems to always be referenced. I didn’t want to finally […]


  8. […] After a few minutes of visiting, I walked back home with a feeling of accomplishment and one thought on my mind: “Louis, I think this the beginning of a beautiful friendship.” (Humphrey Bogart, Casablanca) […]


Leave a Reply

